This year 45 projects have been named as finalists in the Civic Trust Awards, which recognises buildings that make a positive impact on local communities.


The 45 projects named as finalists in the Civic Trust Awards 2022 have been selected by a national judging panel a panel chaired by Keith Williams comprising Architecture Today editor Isabel Allen, BPD chair Chris Harding, communications specialist Josh Fenton and Dominique Staindl, Martin Knight of Knight Architects, Claire Barton of Haverstock, Albert Taylor of AKT II, inclusive design consultant David Dropkin, Derwent London sustainability lead John Davies, Neal Charton, Aileen Wiswell of the Cabinet Office’s estates team and Julian Robinson, director of estates at the London School of Economics.

Among them is an education centre for sustainable farming in the Cotswolds designed by Timothy Tasker Architects, conjoined primary school and residential tower designed by Henley Halebrown in London and the overhaul of the Gannochy estate in Perth by Anderson Bell + Christie to attract a more multi-generational community.

These schemes were whittled down from a longlist of 90 regional finalists, and each will go on to be announced as a National or International Civic Trust Award or be highly commended in their field on 7 March 2022.

A number of special Civic Trust Awards will also be given, including the Selwyn Goldsmith Award for universal design excellence and the AABC Conservation Award for historic building conservation.

There will also be the National Panel Special Award for the judge’s favourite project, Special Award for Sustainability, Special Award for Community Impact & Engagement, Michael Middleton Special Award for a restoration or new build within a conservation area, Special Award for Transportation & Infrastructure and the Special Award for Reuse & Adaptation.

See the full list of finalists for the Civic Trust Awards 2022:


2022 Civic Trust Award finalists

  • 100 Liverpool Street, City of London, Greater London, by Hopkins Architects for British Land
  • Barton Farm Primary Academy, Winchester, South East England by HCC Property Services – Architects for HCC Children’s Services
  • Climatorium Climate Centre, Lemvig, Denmark by 3XN for Lemvig City Council and Lemvig Utility
  • Cranmer Road, King’s College, Cambridge, Eastern England by Allies and Morrison for King’s College Cambridge
  • Eleanor Palmer Primary School Science Lab, Camden, Greater London by AY Architects
  • Espérance Bridge, Camden, Greater London by Moxon Architects Ltd for Argent LLP
  • FarmED, West Oxfordshire, South East England by Timothy Tasker Architects Ltd in association with Anthony Carlile Architect for Cotswolds Seeds Ltd
  • Go Cycle: Kingston Cycle Hub, Kingston-uponThames, Greater London by Sarah Wigglesworth Architects
  • Guildford Crematorium, Guildford, South East England by Haverstock for Guildford Borough Council
  • Hackney New Primary School & 333 Kingsland Road, Hackney, Greater London by Henley Halebrown for Downham Road (JV) Ltd  Education Funding and
  • Skills Agency (EFSA), The Benyon Estate, Thornsett, Hackney New School Academy Trust
  • Harold Alfond Athletics and Recreation Center, Colby College, Maine, USA by Hopkins Architects for Colby College
  • Hobhouse, Westminster, Greater London by Brisac Gonzalez / Arquitectonica
  • Interdisciplinary Biomedical Research Building, University of Warwick, Warwick, West Midlands by Hawkins\Brown for The University of Warwick
  • Intertwining urban ecology, Vorst, Brussels, by BOB361 architects for, Gemeente Vorst & Foyer du Sud
  • Lancaster Castle, Lancaster, North West England by BDP for Duchy of Lancaster
  • Magdalene College Library Cambridge Eastern Niall McLaughlin Architects for Magdalene College
  • Maggie’s Southampton, Southampton, South East England by AL_A for Maggie’s

2022 Civic Trust Awards finalist Manchester Jewish Museum by Citizens Design Bureau reviewed by New Architecture Writers Nyima Murry and Lela Sujani

  • Manchester Jewish Museum, Manchester, North West England by Citizens Design Bureau with Smithers Purslow
  • New Pooley Bridge, Eden, North West England by Knight Architects for Cumbria County Council
  • Preston Bus Station, Preston, North West England by John Puttick Associates for Lancashire County Council
  • Quarry Studios, Aberdeenshire, Scotland by Moxon Architects Ltd
  • Swing Bridge, Bromley, Greater London by Tonkin Liu for Friends of Crystal Palace Dinosaurs, Greater London Authority & London Borough of Bromley
  • Taylor Court, Chatto Court and Wilmott Court, Frampton Park Estate, Hackney, Greater London by Henley Halebrown for Hackney Council
  • Teddington Cricket Club Pavilion, Richmond upon Thames, Greater London by Reed Watts for Teddington Cricket Club & Royal Parks
  • The Alder Centre, Liverpool, North West England by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris for Alder Hey Children’s Hospital
  • The Buhais Geology Park Interpretive Centre, Sharjah, UAE by Hopkins Architects
  • The King’s School, Canterbury International College, Canterbury, South East England by Walters & Cohen Architects for The King’s School, Canterbury
  • The Mitchell Building, The Skinners’ School, Tunbridge Wells, South East England by Bell Phillips Architects for The Skinners School
  • The Welcome Building, RHS Garden Bridgewater, Salford, North West England by Hodder and Partners
  • Tom Patterson Theatre, Ontario, Canada by Hariri Pontarini Architects
  • Tower of Light, Manchester, North West England by Tonkin Liu for Vital Energi & Manchester City Council
  • Wadham College, Oxford, South East England by AL_A for Wadham College
  • West Downs Centre, East Hampshire, South East England by Design Engine Architects for University of Winchester

2022 Civic Trust Awards regional finalist Quarry Studios by Moxon Architects

2022 Civic Trust AABC Conservation Award finalists

  • Anchor Studio – Repair and Renovation, Cornwall, South West England by Rolfe Kentish Architect Ltd for Borlase Smart John Wells Trust
  • ERS Building, Killingworth, North Tyneside, North East England by Ainsworth Spark Associates for North Tyneside Council
  • Frogmore House, Watford, Greater London by Giles Quarme Architects for St William
  • Neville Hall, Newcastle upon Tyne, North East England by Howarth Litchfield Partnership Ltd for The Common Room
  • Pearson Park Entrance Arch, Kingston-upon-Hull, Yorkshire & Humberside by Hugh Massey Architects for Hull City Council
  • Theatre Royal Drury Lane, Westminster, Greater London by Haworth Tompkins
  • Worcester Cathedral Undercroft Learning Centre, Worcester, West Midlands by Acanthus Clews Architects Ltd for The Dean and Chapter, Worcester Cathedral

2022 Civic Trust Awards finalist Worcester Cathedral Undercroft Learning Centre by Acanthus Clews Architects. Photograph by Andy Marshall

2022 Selwyn Goldsmith Award finalists

  • Gannochy Lifetime Neighbourhood, Perth and Kinross, Scotland by Anderson Bell + Christie Architects for The Grannochy Trust
  • The Deaf Academy, East Devon, South West England by Stride Treglown for The Deaf Academy
  • The Welcome Building, RHS Garden Bridgewater, Salford, North West England by Hodder and Partners

2022 Civic Trust Awards finalist Preston Bus Station by John Puttick Associates. Photograph by Gareth Gardner

2022 Pro-Tem Award finalists

  • Ebury Edge, Westminster, Greater London by Jan Kattein Architects for Westminster City Council
  • Hackney Bridge, Newham, Greater London by Turner Works for Make Shift