Walters & Cohen’s Dorothy Garrod Building at Newnham College, Cambridge, heads this year’s winning projects


Supreme Winner: The Dorothy Garrod Building, Newnham College, by Walters & Cohen Architects

Focusing on the value of using durable materials and on finding the right suppliers of products, The Dorothy Garrod Building knits itself among the buildings already part of the college and creates a new frontage for the college from one entrance. The elegant design balances solidity and transparency, with glazing alternating with full-height brickwork panels where hit-and-miss element weaves seamlessly into the texture and detail of the elevation. The hit-and-miss brickwork complements the existing buildings without mimicking them. A bespoke mixture of Northcot Plumstead and Lynham Red bricks were made to create Sidgwick Blend bricks for the project.

“The supreme winner really impressed the judges, who felt it was exceptional in a number of ways. It manages to be exemplary teaching and research space, as well as student housing; it is a strongly urban and welcoming response to the surrounding streets in this part of Cambridge; and at the same time is an amazing work of carefully considered and expressive brick design and craftsmanship. Quite some achievement”, says Hillary Satchwell, head judge of the Brick Awards 2019


Individual Housing Development

Winner: Kenwood Lee House, by architect Cousins & Cousins

Commendations: Ten Oaks by Kirkland Fraser Moor; Hulmefield Hall by Nigel Daly Design


Small Housing Development

Winner: The Interlock, by Bureau de Change Architects

Commendations: 35 Marylebone High Street, by Dixon Jones; Weymouth Mews, by Morrow & Lorraine


Medium Housing Development

Winner: The Dorothy Garrod Building, Newnham College, by Walters & Cohen Architects

Commendation: Roof Gardens, by Ollier Smurthwaite Architects


Large Housing Development

Winner: Porters Edge, by Maccreanor Lavington and Stockwool

Commendation: Hox Park, by Studio Partington


Urban Regeneration

Winner: Raidió Fáilte/Líonra Uladh, by McGurk Architects and ArdMackel Architects

Commendations: New Gorbals Health and Care Centre, by JM Architects; Elephant Park, by Panter Hudspith Architects, Maccreanor Lavington Architects, DRMM



Winner: The Ray Farringdon, by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Commendation: The Caxton, Buckingham Green, by Fletcher Priest Architects